The Kuripot Backpacker: I WHIP my SHOESTRING TRAVELS

“Adventure doesn’t have price, it has grand memories to share and to remember. The most unforgettable experiences are always PRICELESS”

– Fakir

IMG_4984

Features: Budgeting, Financing, Cheap Deal Alert and Traveling in Shoestring Expense.

Most people I know are asking me if my job or writing pays well that I can go to expedition. Traveling is being connoted as expensive hobby. Only for the people who are rich and have the time to spend on going out instead of committing themselves to their day job. I think its a wrong manifestation, I believe that anyone can go out and escape from the town under low budget. I am very stingy when it comes to financing my climbs, backpacking and most of my camping trips. Massive research of places, calculating the risk and the expenses will be the main subject of the trips I have.

IMG_5941

Mt Arayat Traverse Repeat Climb under Php 1000 budget from Manila

Splurging if its a dream travel or trimming down the cost depending of my money’s ability. I spend time calculating several times, weeks before my trips before deciding on touring. The usage of internet will serve as an advantage to your travel ideas. The cheapest climb I ever had is day hiking in Mt Tagapo in Binangonan, Rizal that cost me Php 250.00 with 5 pax on the group. We hire a guide and it was near my place. Traveling doesn’t mean going on a plane ride, nor hopping in for a butt numbing road trip. If you like doing something you wanted to do, plan ahead and you will get there soon.

IMG_5067

The Camiguin Island Experience under Php 2000 budget from Cagayan de Oro

The cheapest backpacking trip I had is my Albay-Sorsogon trip which cost me less than Php 4000.00. Going solo is not as expensive as you read out from articles and travel blogs. I love what I am doing that is the reason why I plan based on my pocket’s ability. Sometimes, fortunate events will be given to you in the most uncanny situation like what happened to me in Sorsogon.

IMG_3557

Masasa Beach in Tingloy Batangas under Php 1000 budget from Manila

I take advantage to plane ticket sale or buying ticket that won’t be used. I went to Puerto Princesa, Palawan, my friend’s boyfriend is unable to attend the trip. They sell the ticket for Php1000.00, room share for Php 300.00 per night and cutting the expense by touring with group packages. I take advantages of the offer that come across, quickly deciding if its a good buy or not. Palawan will always be a worthy purchase after all. Hehe.

Burot Beach in Calatagan Batangas under Php 1000 trip from Manila

The large body of water in the Philippines will make you crave for endless summer. Going to the beach is fascinating, best way to relax and get away from the busy streets of the city. Go on a beachineering trip of your life. I spend less than Php 1000.00 going to Burot Beach in Calatagan, Batangas because I want to try camping in the beach. The ever solitary life I have, beach trip alone but I never had a dull moment with myself. I always find amusing things to do with my limited budget.

Lignon Hill in Legazpi Albay during my Albay-Sorsogon Trip under Php 4000 budget

I joined travel agencies for my Ilocos Trip for Php 3800.00 in 2014 which include the entire tour, van service and accommodation. I just brought my pocket money for food, souvenir and entertainment. My trip to Banaue-Sagada is also booked via touring agency which cost Php 3300.00 for 3 days and 2 nights with tour, spelunking, trek to the falls, van service and accommodation. First time in Baler cost me Php 2300 in 2014 for 2 days and night, returning trip only cost me Php 1500.00 for DIY itinerary and birthday treat of a friend. Those barkada package can give you the ultimate adventure of your life and memories to share with your friends. Drag them along with you or join as solo. Regardless, a trip is still a trip even if you hire someone to deal with the itinerary.

Nagsasa Beach in San Antonio Zambales under Php 1500 budget

 

If you don’t have the money to spend with mountaineering gears or equipment. Find a group who would likely lend you their gears for you to experience hiking at its best. You can always find someone who is willing to help a friend to full fill their life long dream to travel. There are ways if you know someone who do something that make you want to try. This world is limited if you allow yourself to put an end to something you never tried to start with. I am once a dreamer, never believe that I can go to the places I went to. But I overcome the fear and at the present time I am enjoy writing about the travels of my life.

Cagsawa Ruin in Albay, still part of my Albay-Sorsogon Trip under Php 4000 budget

If you want to travel, pack your bags, plan your trip and go elsewhere. Buy the cheapest ticket you can get, travel at least once a year. Get out your safe zone and explore the world. If you will save Php 20.00 per day for all the weekdays of the year, you will have Php 4800.00 that you can used to an adventure that will be kept for life. There are several agencies that offer cheap deals. Explore the world, treasure the memories and mind you that traveling is not always for the rich people. It is for everyone, just plan and budget it depending on your trip.

Escapade in Underground River Tour under Php 7000 budget for 3 days and 2 nights in Palawan

i

 Make friends along the way or be with your family. Cut the splurge by being a cowboy who can sleep in a tent, couch or a cheap hostel. You will not sleep in your tour, you need to walk to see all the sight seeing places, run if your catching time and take a nap on that long road trip. If you have the money to spend buying a new gadget or expensive food. Don’t reason out that traveling are for people who have more money than you do. This is the best time to start exploring. When it comes to traveling there are no poor people, old, no gender. We all have the extra time, money to spend (no matter how little your funds) and places to go.

Tukuran Falls in Oriental Mindoro under Php 3000 budget for Manila-Puerto Galera Mindoro Weekend Getaway

Please feel free to asked me on saving money for my trips or how I funds my trips efficiently. Comment below or contact me on my email!!

Maculot Rockies Photo under my Php 1500 Manabu-Maculot Climb

See you again PIRATES!

Source: Personal Photos Jerleen Custodio Copyright

Manlalayag is Seafarer in Filipino. I want to be a pirate who travels to Collect Memories and Steal Happiness from the places I want to go.

Leave a Reply

