Surfing in Sabang, Baler

To the MAIN COURSE of the trip.

Second time to surf is harder. I can barely stand

Second time to surf is harder. I can barely stand

The waves were just a few meters, the weather is nice, and the surf riders are ready to be on board. It was one of the amazing things I’ve done in my life, to conquer my fear on a board. I am imbalance because of a rare congenital illness which makes me clumsy and prone to slipping accidents. Rollerblading, skating, skateboarding, cycling and common board stuffs are not meant for me.

Surfing with great dudes from high school

Surfing with great dudes from high school

Buddies from my college days with their boards for instruction to ride

Buddies from my college days with their boards for instruction to ride

I need to give so much effort to maintain balance because I get dizzy all the time. We went to Baler to check the beach and known tourist spots. This town is known as one of the SURFING hotspots in the Philippines. Enthusiast all over the world go here to visit the wave and ride. All I want to do is try this stuff and change the pace of my life.

We had no chance to still a PHOTO OFF with the wave. Shore surfing is a must

We had no chance to still a PHOTO OFF with the wave. Shore surfing is a must

Well, that is surfing for Quira

Well, that is surfing for Quira

My group went to the infamous Sabang Beach, rent our boards with instructors which cost Php 300-400.00 / $7.00 – 8.00 per hour (short or long board rental) with trainer. At first its a very difficult task for me standing on the board. My eyes are blurry because I don’t have my glasses on. My shoulders are weak and I don’t have the agility of an athlete.

The PACIFIC Ocean

The PACIFIC Ocean

I am very disappointed with my self because my friends was able to ride with minimal errors. As for me, I struggle a lot. I am good swimmer but standing on a board in the middle of the sea, paddling forever is a not EASY.

Another PARTY WAVE in the making

Another PARTY WAVE in the making

I cannot take it, I will not go home until I was able to ride the waves and feel the thrill. Putting lot of efforts I manage to stand, test under trial and error. Tired from going back and fort into the shoreline, paddling, swimming and stress on my joints.

Some of the actions I took while my friends are enjoying their surf time

Some of the actions I took while my friends are enjoying their surf time

I was able to stand and ride my way on my board. I felt different, I am happy that I was able to control, stand right and surf my way to the shoreline. Me and my instructors put a high-five on my first ride. It was the best feeling, experience things even though your body already put limitations in your life. I don’t want to be stuck on the things the medical world give me to survive this life.

Jha on her selfie board

Jha on her selfie board

I need to explore and know my limits, to live differently, to push until the end and break records. Surfing is one of my achievements and I want to share this to you guys. We have boundaries but that will not stop us believing we can do things we like to do.

The waves became Jha's battle ground

The waves became Jha’s battle ground

Friends that surf together, fall together. Party WAVE!

Friends that surf together, fall together. Party WAVE!

This entry is 2 years in the making. HAHA! I’m so lazy to post it. Now that I have the time in the world. Hope you enjoy reading my escapades in Aurora Province.

We celebrate friendship with a BOARD

We celebrate friendship with a BOARD

Image Sources: Nilo Canlas and Xyrik Manongsong (Approved Photos)

Manlalayag is Seafarer in Filipino. I want to be a pirate who travels to Collect Memories and Steal Happiness from the places I want to go.

2 thoughts on “Surfing in Sabang, Baler

Leave a Reply

