HOW I FINANCE MY TRAVEL?

I AM NOT YOUR MATERIAL GIRL. IM NOT BORN WITH SILVERSPOON. BUT I AM BORN FINANCIALLY SMART TO GO AROUND THE COUNTRY.

Daydreaming in Mt Batulao

Daydreaming in Mt Batulao

Many of my friends think that I have enough money and my day job pay me so well that I can go to different places here in the Philippines. Little they know that I need to earn more in order to fund these trips. I will give you some tips on how to finance your way in exploring the world.

The sun in Paoay Sun Dune in Ilocos Norte

The sun in Paoay Sun Dune in Ilocos Nort

SECURING MONTHLY PAYCHECK

Of course we need to secure our day job that my be employment, self-employment, business and other work we have that guaranteed pay check every month. If there is a permanent means of funds, planning and budgeting your trip will be easier. There are several types of travel, it can be a hobby, way of life, vacation trip or work travel. I think this is a hobby where I always have travel plans all year round. The camping escapade, the mountain exploration, the beach bumming adventures, sight-seeing and the love to learn the culture all over the Philippines. One day, it will be my way of life. Once I build a strong system to fund the travel I will definitely end up traveling the entire WORLD.

The STREAM of Mt Talamitam, Nasugbu Batangas

The STREAM of Mt Talamitam, Nasugbu Batangas

SAVE UP

I usually set aside funds for my trips, my destination will always be based on my budget. If funds are tight then I just go nearby but if I want to go out a few miles away, I always save for that particular trip separately. I have an automatic savings for funding my monthly trip and a separate savings account for my dream destinations. I chopped by earnings depending on my needs. Traveling is part of my needs as it became my niche to develop my personality. Dividing my salary into different ways. I live a basic life in the city, I cook my own food, packed my lunch food, laundry my clothes and I often buy new clothes. Saving up at least 20% of my monthly income for travel expense.

Panorama from Mt Tagapo, Binangonan Rizal

Panorama from Mt Tagapo, Binangonan Rizal

Antipolo Night Skyline

Antipolo Night Skyline

PLAN A TRIP WITH A FRIEND OR JOIN A TOURING GROUP

To make most of my trip cheap, I have travel buddies joining me. This will split the cost of the trip. Checking the best yet less expensive hotels, hostels, tent city, food and ways of transportation. Although, touring with other people will means strict compliance on your itinerary or schedule. Going out alone will give you more time to linger on a spot you like the most. You can also go on camping which is one of the cheapest accommodation since it’s for free. Research and thorough planning can make your travel cheaper. Build a network of traveling friends, find those affordable places to go and exchange information from fellow travelers.

Majayjay Church of Laguna
Majayjay Church of Laguna

ADD PART-TIME JOB/S

Since I am a travel enthusiast, I need to get generate more funds in order to go out more and seek you places. I need to work overtime to be get more on my next paycheck. I always plan those overtime, work on rest days. Adding more hours will generate more funds. I do coordinate on events like weddings or concerts on my time off. I write article to host websites, get paid from advertisement. I write for friends, anything under the sun just to add income to my travel. Some people I know who love traveling have online business, selling stuff, buy and sell goods, anything under the sun to increase income. Soon, I will create my own website to get paid for my blogs. Crossing fingers!! You need excessive effort increasing your money to spend on traveling. I work hard but I play hard as well. From my travels I learn different cultures and photograph the best places in my country. I just love to wanderlust.

Giant Balete Tree in Maria Aurora, Aurora
Giant Balete Tree in Maria Aurora, Aurora

I will keep buying experience instead of buying stuff for the MATERIAL GIRL.

Food Trip From Sagada to Baguio City
Food Trip From Sagada to Baguio City
Manlalayag is Seafarer in Filipino. I want to be a pirate who travels to Collect Memories and Steal Happiness from the places I want to go.

Leave a Reply

